Finally Getting to Even

Simply trying to balance our lives one day at a time…

You can’t even get good homeless these days….

with 2 comments

Last night during a rainstorm my 2 cats were huddled against the window looking out intently into the night. Something was out there and they were intrigued. So I went to the window and looked out, and there it was. A smallish wet cat nosing around on the back patio. A stray, maybe. But I was not going to take any chances and miss the opportunity to give the possibly ‘homeless little guy’ a good meal. 
I quickly ran to the kitchen and grabbed a plastic bowl leftover from when the butter ran out last, filled it to the brim with dry kitty morsels (a flavor well-endorsed by my own two picky eaters) and topped the whole thing off with nice creamy fresh milk. 
In spite of slowly opening the back patio door, unfortunately the cat quickly skittered off. I repeatedly called out to him but he was not returning. So I left the meal out on the patio and went back into the house hoping he would return of his own accord.  This however was not to be and after a few hours I went to bed with no sign of my new little friend, but I hoped he would return in the night and fill his little tummy. However, I also knew the odds were likely that a raccoon, possum or the little fox that visits would be the more likely recipient of this gift. 
This morning when I looked out all was as expected. The food was gone, but…..so was the whole bowl. I looked around the immediate area just to see if it had ‘blown’ but that was not to be the case. My little visitor not only stole the meal…he stole the whole bowl…. Just goes to show you….you can’t even get good homeless these days….. 
so do you feed the stray animals that wander down your path? 
 

 

Written by getawaygoastray

May 17, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bwhhaaaa! Little devil! Maybe the bowl matches the set he has collected from all the other people in the neighborhood who feed him.

    We have two strays as well that I feed as well and I know that the neighbor behind us feeds them too. They are tough kitties as they have been around for two years now. 🙂

    Debbie

    May 18, 2010 at 2:37 am


Leave a Reply

