Finally Getting to Even

Simply trying to balance our lives one day at a time…

Good day everyone….anyone….???

with 4 comments

While yesterday was the ‘official’ start of FinallyGettingtoEven I prefer to consider this day 1.…

we were only breaking the ice as they say….now that we have gotten to know one another (ok, you got to know a little about me, however, I still have a long way to go before I get to know you) anyways, now that I am here and you are here (well how else could you be reading this then)…I know you are out there and I hope you comment to let me know that I am not just ‘hearing the voices in my head’….

I thought we would could start the day off with me explaining why I have chosen to write this blog, what makes me the ’special one’. Well here’s a little secret…I’m not all that special. But the transformation that I have gone through in the past 2 years I can call no less than remarkable. It started a year ago January. Not January 1st, this was no New Years Resolution in any manner, quite the contrary.

I had just returned from a Caribbean cruise with 3 girlfriends. After driving from Indiana to New Orleans we jumped on a cruise ship and sailed the open waters for 4 days. During that time nothing  much out of the ordinary happened. Just 4 friends on a much-needed vacation. I ate and slept much more than I would have desired but I guess I needed them both. (ok, you got me on the food part…I did NOT need all the extra food but what’s a girl on vacation to do, huh)?

Upon returning from the trip I jumped back easily into my current lifestyle but something did not quite feel right. I could not put my finger on it at the time. I just felt out of ‘place’ somehow.

One afternoon while searching around on the internet (hey-it’s winter…I am like a bear that hibernates inside till spring so the internet gets a little burned up all winter long). Anyway, I stumbled across ‘frugal’ sites and landed on a site that had a pretty extensive forum. As I read the content and the posts by all the members I became intrigued, then hooked, then obsessed if you will, and i signed right up.

Now I have always been more frugal than most people I knew but I realized after finding this site, which in turn led to many other sites and onto frugal blogs, that I was just landing on the tip of the iceberg. The individuals that I had discovered fascinated me. They were living or working towards living the life that I had always envisioned myself living, and I wanted to be a part of that world.

So I read, digested, embraced and I began to get a greater understanding of this other lifestyle and I knew what I had to do. I needed to live this life, and so it began. my frugal existence. Which in turn I hope to share with you if you will let me. And while I have not mastered this life by any means, I continue to evolve and learn and I hope you all will go with me for the ride. While I have not quite reached utopia, the trip so far has been, for me, pretty darn blissful and I plan to continue this road less traveled for as far as it will take me.

Won’t you climb aboard….? So until tomorrow….

Written by getawaygoastray

May 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging, may it be a journey of continued learning and lots of saving!

    LeanLifeCoach

    May 18, 2010 at 12:10 am

    • Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. I hope to build this blog into something that will give a great deal of hope and inspiration to those that are trying to live this lifestyle.

      finallygettingtoeven

      May 18, 2010 at 3:13 am

  2. I’m aboard! I have learned sooooo much from you already and always look forward to your next ‘adventure’ in frugalism. 🙂

    Debbie

    May 18, 2010 at 2:30 am


Leave a Reply

